Harlem’s Awakening

Harlems Awakening by Peppur Chambers

Available on Amazon.com.


At eighteen, Harlem Markeson sets out to start a new life in the city for which she’s named. Propelled by the violent deaths of her wealthy parents, Harlem takes the first bus out of Greensboro, North Carolina and heads to New York City. There, she’s thrown into the clandestine world of an underground speakeasy. Lured by Sisters Ruth and Mary into Lady Magdalena’s Manor, a brothel for beautiful dancing girls, Harlem must learn to trust: but who? Harlem’s Awakening is a compelling story set in the 1940’s about a young woman who must journey through hell to become the strong person she is meant to be.

“Author Peppur Chambers brings to life 1940’s America with her debut novel, Harlem’s Awakening, following the unsettling journey of eighteen-year-old Harlem Markeson as she desperately tries to reinvent herself in New York. With believable characters such as the conniving Sisters Ruth and Mary, the ruthless Lady Magdalena, and the mysterious Brown Betties, Peppur has created a seedy underworld where each character fights to unburden their deepest secrets. Harlem’s Awakening marks a strong debut and an irresistible read.”

Lilliam Rivera, Editor


One-woman show based upon the book:

%d bloggers like this: